Wednesday, December 30, 2015

{eARC MInute Review} Breaking a Legend (Kavanagh Legends #1) by Sarah Robinson

Perfect for fans of Katy Evans and Monica Murphy, Sarah Robinson’s blistering-hot series debut introduces the Kavanagh brothers—mixed martial arts fighters who work hard, play hard, and love with all their hearts.

As one of the big names at his family’s gym, Legends, MMA star Rory Kavanagh is used to being in the spotlight—until a gruesome leg injury knocks him out of the cage. Rory is left feeling sidelined in more ways than one, battling the inner demons that come with losing the one shot at his dreams. Then Clare walks into his life and gives him a new dream: winning her heart. There aren’t many new faces in Woodlawn these days, but this tough, beautiful stranger makes Rory want to get his life back into fighting shape.

Clare Ivers doesn’t think she’ll be able to tell anyone what really brought her to the close-knit Bronx neighborhood where she just started bartending. But her life’s on pause and her past is catching up fast, try as she might to move on—with new friends, steady work, and a chiseled alpha male trying to get her attention. Even though Rory’s more than a little intense, she can’t deny that her heart beats faster when he looks at her with those soulful silver eyes. Clare thought she was done with love, but Rory might just be man enough to show her she thought wrong.
(Blurb via Goodreads)
{Details} eARC, 273 pages. Published September 29th 2015 by Loveswept. Source: eARC provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

{Rating} 3/5 - I liked it!


Breaking a Legend kept my attention, Sarah Robinson did a good job with pacing and doling out just enough information to keep me turning the pages, but ultimately it wasn't very memorable.

I liked Clare and Rory together, they both see something in each other that they can relate to, a person to love, to fight for. Told in my favorite dual POV we get to see in both Clare and Rory's heads, Clare's fear and determination, and Rory's fierce protectiveness and the pain of broken dreams and descent into addiction.

I liked the extended Kavanaugh family and what I saw of them makes me eager to read more in the Kavanaugh Legends series. If you're a fan of MMA stories give Breaking a Legend a try

1 comment:

  1. I love MMA stories, but I've had a hard time finding one that I love lately. The covers and descriptions all promise one thing, but then we get another. Glad that it was an easy read, though.